Requiem for a Friendship

 

Your husband is an asshole.

“I’m so lucky.  I have such a great husband;

We love to snuggle in bed back to back.”

Your husband is an asshole.

 

You were my friend.

“Call me and we’ll have tea and talk about gardens;

Come over anytime.”

You were my friend.

 

You cared for my mother

And nursed her in her final days.

We were close, bound by my mother’s bones;

You cared for my mother.

 

You told me he was wonderful.

When your back was turned he clutched me,

Forced his kiss upon me.

You told me he was wonderful.

 

Your husband is an asshole.

You wonder why I don’t call,

Why I have disappeared from your life.

Your husband is an asshole.

 

Judy Andrus Toporcer

March 2006

 

About Wizened Eye

I'm a photo-artist living in northern N.Y. and Ottawa, Canada.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

