Indigo Blues

Image

I got these blues in the mornin’,
I got these blues around my head.
I got these blues in the mornin’,
If I don’t get me some lovin’ soon I’ll be dead.

I’m worn out, wet and weary,
‘Sing these blues up to the sky.
I’m worn out, wet and weary,
‘And so down I can barely fly.

‘Need a blue-feathered woman, Lord,
A gal to put my heart at rest.
‘Need a fine blue-feathered woman, Lord,
Someone who’ll sit upon my nest.

Yes I got these blues in the mornin’,
’Ain’t got nuthin else but this tree.
Yeah I got these blues in the mornin’,
‘Want someone to share this branch with me.

I got these blues in the mornin,’ 
I got these blues around my head. 
I got these blues in the mornin,’ 
If I don’t get me some lovin’ soon I’ll be dead.

Note: I took some “artistic license” with this one: a female Indigo Bunting is actually BROWN…

About Wizened Eye

I'm a photo-artist living in northern N.Y. and Ottawa, Canada.
This entry was posted in Photo, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

